2nd T20I: Klaasen guides South Africa to 4-wicket win, 2-0 series lead over India (Ld)

South Africa restricted India to 148/6 in 20 overs despite Dinesh Karthik’s late flourish (30 not out off 21 balls). Apart from Karthik, Shreyas Iyer (40 off 35), Ishan Kishan (34 off 21) were the main scorers as most of the Indian batsmen failed to perform against the Proteas bowlers and lost wickets at regular intervals.

In reply, Bhuvneshwar Kumar’s magic figures of 4/13 in four overs were not enough to stop the Proteas as they chased down a total with 10 balls to spare.

Defending a modest total, India were already in need of wickets and Bhuvneshwar Kumar bowled the ball through Hendrick’s gate in the very first over. The decision to send Dwayne Pretorius did not receive the same reward as the first game, as he was deceived by the experienced pacer’s knuckleball.

In the sixth over, Bhuvneshwar took his third wicket with a nip-backer to dismiss the dangerous Rassie van der Dussen. India kept a lid on the scoring even after the fielding ban was lifted, reducing the Proteas to just 36/3 after the powerplay.

However, wicket-keeper batsman Klaasen had other plans. The required run-rate was touching 10 per over when they decided to attack India. The carnage began when he smashed Yuzvendra Chahal for a four and a six and treated Hardik with two boundaries in his second over.

The batsman dismissed Axar Patel from the attack in his very first over, scoring 19 runs which included a six and two fours. Temba Bavuma’s wicket for 35 did nothing to slow South Africa down as Klaasen’s fireworks brought down the required rate.

Klaasen completed his half-century in just 32 balls and then ended the game early. Needing 34 off 30, the decision to bowl to Chahal backfired on India as David Miller and Klaasen smoked the wrist spinner for three sixes.

By the time the wicketkeeper-batsman was dismissed for 81 by Harshal Patel, South Africa needed only five from the last three overs. Bhuvi took another wicket to complete his four, before Miller scored the winning run and took the visitors home with ten balls and four wickets to spare.

Earlier, opting to bat first, India had a poor start as opener Ruturaj Gaikwad was dismissed by Kagiso Rabada in the very first over of the innings. Shreyas Iyer then joined Ishan Kishan in the middle and it was not easy for both the Indian batsmen as the Proteas pacer was bowling tough lengths on a two-paced pitch in Cuttack.

In the fourth over, Nortje bowled a pair off Ishan Kishan and he hit him over legside for a six. The left-hander continued his aggressive approach and took India 42/1 at the end of the powerplay.

However, in the next over, Nortje bowled a one-shot pitch delivery to Kishan, who was late on the bridge and offered a dolly to square leg to drive back to the pavilion after 34 for 21.

Unlike Delhi, where Proteas skipper Temba Bavuma brought in the spinners in the first over, he kept the spin away for 8 overs here. In the ninth over, left-arm spinner Tabrez Shamsi was introduced and went for 14 after Iyer hit a four and a six. But, Keshav Maharaj showed shrewdness in the next over, dismissing Rishabh Pant (5), who gave his slog to the sweeper cover fielder, leaving India at 68/3 in 9.1 overs.

From there, it was on Hardik Pandya and a steady Iyer to take India forward. But, Bavuma brought Wayne Parnell back into the attack and the pacer bowled a ball from an angle to smack down Pandya’s stumps.

Very soon, Iyer was dismissed by Dwayne Pretorius, which was caught behind the wicket by Klaasen. India still had hopes from the pair of Dinesh Karthik and Axar who were the last recognized pair to take their team to a competitive total. But Axar (10) could not do much, as Nortje was dismissed on the last ball of the 17th over, India were bowled out for 112/6.

Finally, Karthik, who used his finishing skills well and along with Harshal Patel (12 not out) scored 30 runs in the last two overs, to take India to 148/6 in 20 overs. Enrique Nortje (2/36) was the most successful bowler for South Africa, while Kagiso Rabada, Wayne Parnell, Dwayne Pretorius, Keshav Maharaj took a wicket each.

Brief scores: India 148-6 in 20 overs (Shreyas Iyer 40, Ishan Kishan 34; Enrique Nortje 2/36) lost to South Africa 149-6 in 18.2 overs (Heinrich Klaasen 81, Temba Bavuma 35; Bhuvneshwar Kumar 4/6) 13) by 4 wickets

Disclaimer: This story is auto-aggregated by a computer program and is not created or edited by FreshersLIVE.Publisher : IANS-media

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.