Asian Track Cycling: Para-cyclist Jyoti wins gold with outstanding performance by Indians on day 2

A total of 12 final races including four finals in para-cycling were held on the second day of 41st Senior, 28th Junior Asian Track and 10th Para Track Cycling Championships.

A 1 gold, 3 silver and 4 bronze medal race on Sunday took the hosts to a total of 18 medals in the competition so far.

In the women’s junior category, Pooja Danole started the Indian tally by adding a bronze medal in the individual pursuit on the second day. She clocked 2:31.277s to finish third and set a new national record, improving her previous mark of 2:37.410s. The gold medal was awarded to Japan’s Mizuki Ikeda, who clocked 49.911 s, while Korea’s Yunyong Cheon won the silver in 47.898 s.

“I have been practicing for this medal for the last 7 years and this medal means a lot to me. I am grateful to my coach Mr. VN Singh who gave us the courage to win medals at the international level.” Excited worship.

The biggest heartbreak for India came when Kerin, the country’s No. 1 in the Elite Men’s category, failed to win a medal in the event. He finished 5th in this event.

“I tried my best but it was definitely not my day,” Aso said after the event. “There is no excuse for losing a medal, the opponents prepared and did well. I will definitely give a medal to India in the coming days of the championship.”

However, there was some respite for the hosts when Vishwajeet Singh won a bronze medal in the senior men’s individual pursuit category. He took 9 minutes to complete the 4 km race beating Kiyat Chun Lim of Malaysia, who clocked 10 minutes. In the qualifying round, Vishwajeet clocked 4:31.380 seconds to beat his Malaysian rival (4:31.130s). But Vishwajeet did his best in the final to win the medal. Japan’s Shoi Matsuda won the gold and Korea’s Sanghoon Park won the silver.

In the men’s junior category, Neeraj Kumar lost the gold medal to Kazakhstan’s rider Maxim Trashkin, who dominated the event and overtook Neeraj after 2000 meters in the race. Silver was won by Neeraj and Seungmin Hong of Korea won bronze, who defeated Dior Takhirov of Uzbekistan.

Mayuri Dhanraj Lute made headlines by winning a bronze medal in the 500m time trial event. It was her second bronze in the two-day championships, although it was her first individual medal in the senior category. He finished third in the time trial by clocking 36.481 seconds with a speed of 49.340 km/h. The gold was won by Malaysia’s Nurul Izzah Mohamed Asri, who clocked 35.499 s at 50.705 km/h, while the silver was claimed by Korea’s Bomi Kim, who finished in 36.374 s.

“It’s a big day in my career, I’ve been waiting for this moment for a long time, let’s go without medals, it’s still memorable for me, I want to thank all the people who believed in me Did it,” said Mayuri.

Leela Hedreeverani claimed the first medal for Iran on the second day of the Asian Track Cycling Championships at the IGI Stadium here. She won the bronze medal in the junior women’s section with a timing of 38.033 seconds. Sadanya Koteke won the silver medal with a time of 37.823 s, while Cheon Kim of Korea won the gold with a time of 35.740 s.

India’s star rider Meenakshi also failed to clinch a medal in the individual pursuit in the women’s elite category. She clocked 3:50.23 to finish fifth in the event.

Warishdeep Singh and Luv Kumar Yadav finished 9th and 10th in the Junior Men’s Keirin event, in the final and David Beckham finished 8th in the Men’s Elite Keirin event.

In para-cycling, Jyoti Gaderai won the gold medal, while teammate Geeta Rao bagged the silver medal in the para women’s individual pursuit event. They clocked 5:24.990 and 6:12.939 seconds respectively to complete the race.

India added another bronze medal in the Para men’s 4km individual pursuit event when India’s Arshad Shaikh finished third with a timing of 5:43.604 s. Iran’s Mahdi Mohammadi (5:24.218 sec) and Behrouz Farzad (5:34.339 sec) took gold and silver respectively.

Disclaimer: This story is auto-aggregated by a computer program and is not created or edited by FreshersLIVE.Publisher : IANS-media

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.