Chateauroux 2022 World Cup: Lekhara wins second gold, pistol shooters claim two team silvers

Lekhara scored 458.3 in the R8 – Women’s 50m Rifle 3 Position SH1 final to win the gold medal, ahead of experienced Paralympic stars Veronika Vadovicova (456.6) of Slovakia and Anna Norman (441.9) of Sweden. Vadovicova and Norman won the silver and bronze medals respectively.

The promising Rajasthan shooter got off to a slow start in the final but quickly found her way back to her streak with consistent shots, including more than 10 scores in the last three rounds, to emerge the winner.

The 20-year-old Lekra has already won the R2 – Women’s 10m Air Rifle Standing SH1 gold with a world record attempt on Day 1 and secured India a quota for the Paris 2024 Paralympic Games.

“So emotional as I brought home the second gold medal of this #WorldCup in the 50M 3P event with a score of 458.3. Couldn’t be happier than that!” tweeted Lekhara, who won a bronze medal at the Paralympics in the same event. She also won Paralympic gold in the R2- Women’s 10m Air Rifle SH1 event at Tokyo 2020.

Francis Claims Bronze

Another youngster who shone on the day was Rubina Francis, who won her second individual medal in consecutive days. Frances settled for 213.1 bronze in the P2 – Women’s 10m Air Pistol SH1 Final, as Turkey’s Aysel Ozgan won the gold medal with a world record effort of 240.0.

Turkey’s Ozgan’s fellow shooter Aysegul Pehelwan (236.7) won the silver medal.

The team of Francis, Sumedha Pathak and Nisha Kanwar later claimed silver in the P2 – Women’s 10m Air Pistol SH1 team event, finishing behind China (1659-30x) for a total of 1648–29x. Thailand (1589-15x) won the bronze medal.

P1 – In the men’s 10m Air Pistol SH1 team event, Paralympic stars Manish Narwal, Singhraj and Nihal Singh won the silver medal with an aggregate score of 1692-52x.

China (1702-45x) won the gold while Turkey (1687-43x) won the bronze.

However, Narwal and Singhraj missed out on medals in the individual final and finished fourth and fifth. The final was won by multiple-time Paralympic champion Yang Chao of China (239.6).

Disclaimer: This story is auto-aggregated by a computer program and is not created or edited by FreshersLIVE.Publisher : IANS-media

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.