Dave Houghton shows confidence as Zimbabwe eyes perfect campaign in men’s T20 WC Qualifier B

They will then play Jersey and the United States at the same venue on Tuesday and Thursday, respectively, to complete their Group A matches. Group B consists of the Netherlands, Papua New Guinea, Hong Kong and Uganda. The teams making the final of the tournament will take the remaining two places in the ICC Men’s T20 World Cup 2022 to be held in Australia in October-November this year.

“Where we want to see as a team, we’re saying nothing less than winning the tournament – as simple as that. Qualifying would be a bonus but we really want to win the tournament,” Houghton said. Tournament in Zimbabwe Cricket Release.

Having camped out in Bulawayo a fortnight before the showpiece event, Houghton believes his players are very well prepared for the tournament. “I’m so happy. I can’t thank the ground staff here in Bulawayo for the facilities they’ve got here in Queens for two weeks. We’ve had a lot of centre-wicket practice and net practice. I couldn’t go for more Said. People are ready. From what I see, people have responded really well.”

“The language they are using now is about positivity, it is about freedom of expression and we are getting people to hit the ball properly using all their skills. Their skills have been around for a few years now. Wrapped up and hopefully we are going to release them now and we should see a good, positive, exciting brand of cricket from Monday onwards.”

Zimbabwe, ranked 12th in the men’s T20I rankings, received a timely boost ahead of the tournament through the availability of Sean Williams, Wellington Masakadza and Richard Ngarwa. Williams missed the last two home series against Namibia and Afghanistan when Zimbabwe Cricket granted him compassionate leave to attend to personal and personal matters.

Ngarava and Masakadza were also ruled out of those series as they were recovering from lower back and right shoulder injuries respectively. But now, the trio is back and is part of the 14-man Zimbabwe team led by Craig Ervine along with seasoned campaigners like Tendai Chatra, Sikandar Raza, Regis Chakabwa and Blessing Mujarbani.

Zimbabwe Squad: Ryan Burl, Regis Chakabwa, Tendai Chatara, Craig Erwin (captain), Luke Jongwe, Innocent Kaya, Wesley Madhevere, Tadiwanashe Marumani, Wellington Masakadza, Blessing Mujarbani, Richard Ngarwa, Sikandar Raza, Milton Shumba and Sean Williams.

Disclaimer: This story is auto-aggregated by a computer program and is not created or edited by FreshersLIVE.Publisher : IANS-media

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.