Fast bowler Naseem Shah replaces Hasan Ali in Pakistan team for Dutch ODI series, Asia Cup

The series against the Netherlands is part of the ICC Men’s Cricket World Cup Super League fixtures.

Tall pacer Shaheen Afridi has been retained in the ODI and T20 squads and his rehabilitation program will be overseen by a team trainer and physiotherapist, who will also decide on his return to international cricket.

There will be five changes from the Netherlands ODI team to the ACC T20 Asia Cup squad. Abdullah Shafiq, Imam-ul-Haq, Mohammad Haris, Salman Ali Agha and Zahid Mahmood will be replaced by Asif Ali, Haider Ali, Iftikhar Ahmed and Usman Qadir.

Chief selector Muhammad Wasim said, “We have made only those changes that were necessary. Both the competitions are important for us and hence, we have picked our best available players in consultation with the captain and the head coach.”

“Hasan has been given a break from international cricket and has been replaced by Naseem Shah. He is quick and can give more momentum to the fast bowling department, which already has Haris Rauf, Mohammad Wasim Jr., Shaheen Afridi and Shahnawaz Dahani. Naseem hasn’t played any international white-ball cricket, but he has demonstrated with the red ball that he is an aggressive option with good pace and controlled swing.

“Salman Ali Agha has been recalled to the ODI squad after averaging 40.33 and 48.8 in the last two Pakistan Cup tournaments respectively. He also gives Babar Azam an additional bowling option.”

The team will leave for Amsterdam on 12 August. The T20 players will join the squad for the ACC T20 Asia Cup on 22 August in Dubai.


Pakistan squad for Netherlands ODI – Babar Azam (captain), Shadab Khan (vice-captain), Abdullah Shafiq, Fakhar Zaman, Haris Rauf, Imam-ul-Haq, Khushdil Shah, Mohammad Haris, Mohammad Nawaz, Mohammad Rizwan, Mohammad Wasim Junior, Naseem Shah, Salman Ali Agha, Shaheen Afridi, Shahnawaz Dahani and Zahid Mehmood.

Pakistan squad for ACC T20 Asia Cup – Babar Azam (Captain), Shadab Khan (Vice-Captain), Asif Ali, Fakhar Zaman, Haider Ali, Haris Rauf, Iftikhar Ahmed, Khushdil Shah, Mohammad Nawaz, Mohammad Rizwan, Mohammad Wasim Junior, Naseem Shah, Shaheen Afridi, Shahnawaz Dahani and Usman Qadir.


vs Netherlands

ODIs: 16, 18 and 21 August (VOC Cricket Ground, Rotterdam).

ACC T20 Asia Cup in United Arab Emirates: Group A – India, Pakistan and qualifiers (one from UAE, Kuwait and Hong Kong to qualify); Group B – Afghanistan, Bangladesh and Sri Lanka.

Disclaimer: This story is auto-aggregated by a computer program and is not created or edited by FreshersLIVE.Publisher : IANS-media

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.