Graham Hume replaces Craig Young in Ireland’s squad for South Africa series

The change came on the eve of the team’s departure from Dublin on Sunday afternoon to Bristol for the series against South Africa, an official statement from Cricket Ireland said.

Hume, 31, incidentally, played for South Africa in the 2010 Men’s U19 World Cup in New Zealand. In May this year, he was handed a central retainer contract by Ireland and played his ODI against New Zealand earlier this month.

Ireland will play two T20Is against South Africa in Bristol on 3 and 5 August, followed by a five-match T20I series against Afghanistan on 9, 11 and 12 August, 15 and 17 August.

Ireland hosted India for two T20Is on 26 and 28 June, in which the visitors won the series 2–0, including a narrow four-run victory in the second game. They recently hosted New Zealand in the home summer of 2022, losing the ODI and T20I series 3–0 despite coming close to unbelievable victories on several occasions.

It is expected that a tentative Ireland squad for the ICC Men’s T20 World Cup to be held in Australia in October-November will be announced in late August, with the final squad confirmed in early September.

Ireland squad for T20I against South Africa: Andrew Balbirnie (c), Mark Adair, Curtis Camper, Gareth Delany, George Dockrell, Stephen Doheny, Fionn Hand, Graham Hume, Josh Little, Andrew McBrine, Barry McCarthy, Paul Stirling, Harry Tector, Lorcan Tucker.

Disclaimer: This story is auto-aggregated by a computer program and is not created or edited by FreshersLIVE.Publisher : IANS-media

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.