Harmanpreet will lead the 15-member Indian women’s team at the Commonwealth Games (LD)

Opener Smriti Mandhana will be his deputy in the competition, which will include women’s T20Is.

BCCI Secretary Jay Shah said, “The All India Women’s Selection Committee met in Birmingham on Monday to choose the squad for the upcoming 2022 Commonwealth Games. This will be the first time that a Women’s T20 International will feature in the prestigious multi-sport event.” informed in a release.

India are in Group A along with Australia, Barbados and Pakistan. Sri Lanka, England, New Zealand and South Africa have been placed in Group B. The top two teams from the respective pool will advance to the semi-finals. India are scheduled to play three matches in the league phase of the tournament starting July 29, the release said.

Apart from Harman and Smriti, other regular players like openers Shafali Verma, spinners Sneh Rana and Rajeshwari Gaikwad, all-rounders Deepti Sharma and Pooja Vastrakar and wicketkeeper-batsman Tania Bhatia have been included in the squad.

Upcoming bowler Meghna Singh has also been retained, who performed brilliantly as a substitute bowler with Sri Lanka in the recently concluded series.

Jemima Rodrigues, who was dropped for the Women’s World Cup in New Zealand earlier this year, before making a comeback in the recently concluded ODI series against Sri Lanka. Playing his first international match since October 2021, Jemimah hit a crucial 27-ball 36 not out in the first T20I against Sri Lanka in Dambulla, helping India start their tour with a win.

Simran Dil Bahadur, Richa Ghosh and Poonam Yadav have been named as reserves.

The Indian women will play their first match against T20 World Champions Australia at Edgbaston on July 29 and will take on Pakistan on July 31, the release said.

Indian women’s team: Harmanpreet Kaur (C), Smriti Mandhana (VC), Shafali Verma, S Meghna, Tania Sapna Bhatia (WK), Yastika Bhatia (WK), Deepti Sharma, Rajeshwari Gaikwad, Pooja Vastrakar, Meghna Singh, Renuka Thakur, Jemima Rodrigues, Radha Yadav, Harleen Deol, Sneh Rana.

Standby: Simran Dil Bahadur, Richa Ghosh, Poonam Yadav.

Disclaimer: This story is auto-aggregated by a computer program and is not created or edited by FreshersLIVE.Publisher : IANS-media

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.