Ranji Trophy semi-finals: UP dominate Mumbai, MP in strong position against Bengal

Mumbai were 133/1 in their second innings at stumps earlier in the day, taking UP ahead by 346 runs. Captain Prithvi Shaw took the lead and scored 64 runs in 71 balls. He scored 64 runs in the opening stand with his partner Yashasvi Jaiswal scoring 66 runs.

Jaiswal scored a century in the first innings, while Shaw quickly hit twelve fours after being dismissed early. Yashasvi Jaiswal (35 not out), Armaan Jaffer (32 not out) remained unbeaten on the crease for Mumbai till the end of the third day’s play.

Earlier in the day, UP collapsed in reply to Mumbai’s first innings total of 393. Tushar Deshpande, Mohit Awasthi and Tanush Kotian took three wickets each to restrict UP to just 180.

Overnight the two batsmen, Madhav Kaushik and Karan Sharma had put on a 60-run partnership, but the innings collapsed after both were dismissed, as UP lost seven wickets for 84 runs. Shivam Mavi’s 48 runs including two sixes brought some respect to the total but could not stop Mumbai’s dominance.

In another semi-final, Bengal could not take a first innings lead as they suffered another collapse despite centuries from overnight batsmen – Manoj Tiwary and Shahbaz Ahmed. The duo put on a 183-run partnership to help fix the innings, but the stance changed once again after Tiwary was dismissed for 102.

Bengal, who had lost their first five wickets for just 54 runs, lost their last five wickets for just 36 runs as Madhya Pradesh took a crucial 68-run lead in the first innings. Saransh Jain, who started the fall with two wickets in an over, took three wickets in the same manner as Kumar Karthikeya and Puneet Date.

In reply, Madhya Pradesh put up a strong, determined performance with Rajat Patidar unbeaten on 63 and without a wicket in the final session. A Cricbuzz report stated that he scored 73 runs along with Aditya Srivastava after Shubham Sharma was forced to retire after being hit by a bouncer in a teacup.

Madhya Pradesh ended the day in the driver’s seat with a lead of 231.

Brief Scores:

Mumbai 393 (Hardik Tamor 115 not out, Yashasvi Jaiswal 100; Karan Sharma 4-46) and 133/1 (Prithvi Shaw 64, Yashasvi Jaiswal 35 not out) scored Uttar Pradesh 180 all out (Shivam Mavi 48; Tushar Deshpande 3-34) ) by 346 runs

Madhya Pradesh 341 (Himanshu Mantri 165, Akshat Raghuvanshi 63; Mukesh Kumar 4-66) and 163/2 (Rajat Patidar 63 not out) beat Bengal 273 all out (Shahbaz Ahmed 116, Manoj Tiwary 102; Puneet Date 3-48) carried forward. 231 runs

Disclaimer: This story is auto-aggregated by a computer program and is not created or edited by FreshersLIVE.Publisher : IANS-media

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.