Youth Men’s and Women’s National Boxing: Devika, Abhivardhan reach final as 7 boxers from Maharashtra

The Haryana women’s team and the Services Sports Control Board (SSCB) men’s team also continued their stellar performances with 11 boxers each reaching the finals.

Devika Ghorpade (52kg) extended her scintillating form and got off to a great start for Maharashtra as she opened the bout against Punjab’s Kuldeep Kaur with a positive intention. Devika’s relentless attack forced the referee to halt the contest in the second round and give the result in her favour. She will face Anjali of Haryana in the final.

In the 57 kg feather weight category, Arya Bartake defeated Anju of Rajasthan in a thrilling contest. Both the boxers threw caution to the wind and struck heavily throughout the bout, but Arya did well enough to win over her opponent in a 4-1 split decision. She will face Mizoram’s Naom Chingsanumi in the final.

Sharvari Kalyankar (75kg), Nasveera Mujawar (81kg) and Kanchan Suranse (81+kg) were the other women boxers from Maharashtra to enter the finals. In the gold medal match, they will face Haryana’s Muskan, Pranjal and Kirti respectively.

In the men’s section, Abhivardhan (92kg) of Maharashtra defeated Rishabh Pandey of Uttar Pradesh 5-0 in a one-sided match. He will face Asian junior champion Bharat Jun of Haryana in the final.

The other male boxer from Maharashtra to reach the final was Usman Ansari (51kg), who defeated Vishwas Mehra of Uttarakhand 5-0. He will face Jadumani Mandengbam of SSCB in the final.

Delhi’s Sanjana (48kg) and Shivani (70kg) also entered the finals after beating Himachal Pradesh’s Priya and Rajasthan’s Sanjana 5-0.

Anand Yadav (57kg), Adarsh ‚Äč‚ÄčKatare (60kg) and Aman Singh (92+kg) are the boxers from Madhya Pradesh who have reached the finals.

Punjab’s Tejashwi Vashisht also emerged victorious on the fifth day of the competition as he defeated Aayush Yadav of Manipur in a 4-1 split decision in the men’s 75kg semi-final.

Disclaimer: This story is auto-aggregated by a computer program and is not created or edited by FreshersLIVE.Publisher : IANS-media

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.